Carrot and Coconut Soup with Crispy Chickpeas

Before you go to far: you will need an immersion blender.  I bet this can be done in a regular blender, but it would be a pain.

It’s gotten cold outside (60 degrees is cold in SF), and I was craving soup.  But I was also craving something colorful and fresh.  That was my inspiration for this curried, coconutty, carrot soup.  I was all pumped to take awesome pictures but then I turned my kitchen into a cooking tornado and didn’t take too many.  Whoops.  Also, I was completely full of fried chickpeas by the time I sat down to eat.  Don’t make the same mistake I did.

I only used chicken broth instead of veggie broth because I don’t really like the veggie broth at Trader Joes.  I’m sure this soup would be fine with either.  Also, feel free to play with the seasonings a bit.  I bet cumin/chili powder would be a good combo too.  The curry version with sriracha was pretty good though – honestly the sriracha kind of “made it” for me.

This produced enough soup for dinner for me and two servings of leftovers.

IMG_3740

IMG_3727

IMG_3732 Ingredients:

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoon curry powder
  • 2 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 16 oz chicken broth (or veggie broth if you prefer)
  • 1 pound carrots, peeled
  • 1 large onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 can light coconut milk
  • cilantro, sriracha, and jalapenos as garnish
  • salt

Instructions (for soup)

  1. Roast the whole carrots (with a little olive oil and salt) at 350 degrees until they just begin to brown.
  2. Meanwhile, sweat the onions on low heat in a large pot for about 10-15 minutes.
  3. Once the carrots just begin to brown, take them out of the oven and chop them into 2 inch chunks.  Throw them into the soup pot.  At this point, pour in the chicken broth and coconut milk and bring to a simmer.
  4. Simmer until the carrots are quite soft – this shouldn’t take too long.  Once they are soft, use an immersion blender and blend the soup until very smooth.  Season with about 1 tablespoon each of curry powder and garlic powder.  Start with only half of that and work your way up.  Do the same with salt.
  5. Serve with cilantro, chickpeas, jalapenos, and maybe some sriracha!

Instructions (for chickpeas)

  1. Drain the can of chickpeas.  Pat them dry with a paper towel.  Meanwhile, heat vegetable oil in a small pot (so that the oil is about 1 inch deep).  Heat on a medium flame.
  2. Working in small batches, fry the chickpeas in the oil until they darken.  Let them rest on a paper towel, then sprinkle with salt, curry powder, and garlic powder.
Leave a Reply

