thai green curry

Boyfriend and I don’t always agree when it comes to food.  That can make choosing a dinner that works for both of us hard sometimes.  Usually I can keep him pretty happy by making a dinner that begs for hot sauce.  This chicken curry dish met that criteria, and it was a one pot meal!  With veggies!  I wouldn’t call this “healthy” considering the coconut milk, but it’s comfort food so I think it’s okay.

It took me three trips to the grocery store because I kept forgetting things, but eventually I got my act together and was able to finish dinner.  In spite of a few hiccups (too thin sauce, wrong coconut milk), I like how this dinner turned out.  Boyfriend usually isn’t a fan of coconut milk, but I think he liked it too.  We both brought the leftovers to work the next day, and it kept well.

thai curryIngredients:

  • fresh ginger, peeled, about 2 tablespoons
  • fresh garlic, 3 cloves
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1 pound chicken breast, cut into bite sized chunks
  • 2 small sweet potatoes
  • a few big handfuls of spinach
  • juice of 2 limes
  • a dash of fish sauce (optional)
  • cilantro
  • 1 can lite coconut milk
  • 1/2 can real coconut milk
  • cornstarch (optional)
  • cooked white rice

Instructions:

  • Place peeled ginger, garlic, and jalapeno in the food processor with a tiny bit water.  Pulse until you have a rough paste.  Saute the paste in a large pot until very aromatic.
  • Pour the coconut milk over the paste.  You may have to scoop out the real coconut milk, it solidifies in cooler temperatures.  Bring to a soft boil.
  • Put the raw chicken and the chopped potatoes into the coconut milk mixture and simmer until cooked through.  Once cooked, taste for salt or any other spices you may want.  Add the lime juice and fish sauce.  At this point, I realized I wanted more ginger flavor so I added some ground ginger to the pot.  I also added some curry powder for an extra kick.
  • Add the spinach and cook until wilted.
  • So here’s where things got tricky.  I realized the sauce was pretty thin, so I added cornstarch until I got the thickness I desired.  This is totally optional!
  • Serve everything over white rice and top with cilantro and Sriracha.

Warning! This is good leftover, but do not eat it if you have a busy day at work.  It will put you to sleep!

 

Leave a Reply

