tomato sauce (from scratch!)

I don’t know why everyone doesn’t make tomato sauce from scratch.  It’s way cheaper, healthier, and honestly doesn’t take much effort or time at all.  All you need is tomatoes (I use roma), garlic, olive oil, and basil.  It tastes good without the basil too – but if we’re trying to be authentic here, we might as well use it.  All you need to do is roughly chop some tomatoes, throw them in a pan at medium-high heat, and let them cook down.  Then I toss in lots of fresh chopped garlic – none of that stuff from a jar!  When my pasta is ready, I mix it into the sauce and sprinkle with basil.  That’s it!  I feel like such an old Italian lady when I make this (I have no Italian heritage, but a girl can dream).

gnocchi4

Boyfriend and I couldn’t agree on dinner last night, so he had Kraft macaroni and cheese while I gave some store-bought gnocchi a try.  The gnocchi was alright, but the sauce turned out great.  It was so fresh!  It even tasted good leftover today.  It must have been the giant garlic cloves I used.  I’m still using the camera on my iPhone, sorry about the neon tomatoes.

gnocchi2

Even though the gnocchi itself wasn’t my favorite, I was pretty happy with the result.  This is my go-to meal if boyfriend isn’t having dinner with me because he doesn’t like pasta (what a monster!!!).  It is my comfort food, especially with a glass of our family favorite, Bogle Merlot.

gnocchi1

Ingredients:

  • Roma tomatoes.  About 6 per person.
  • Garlic. Fresh garlic.  About 1 clove for every 3 tomatoes? I don’t know, I like a lot of garlic.
  • Good olive oil
  • Fresh basil
  • Salt
  • Parmesan for sprinkling
  • Pasta, gnocchi, your mouth.  Just something to put the sauce on.  I think you can figure that part out.

Instructions:

  • Chop the tomatoes.  This doesn’t need to be pretty.  I don’t even peel the damn things; the skin doesn’t bother me at all.  Throw them in a pan or pot at medium-high heat with some olive oil.  They should start to turn to mush pretty quickly.  Once they are cooked down, lower the heat so you don’t overcook the tomatoes.  This would be a good time to add salt.
  • Throw in some garlic.  I don’t think it needs to be browned or anything, just let it cook right in the tomato sauce for a few minutes.
  • Meanwhile, cook your pasta.  Salt the water! Seriously, it makes such a difference, especially with a simple sauce like this.  Be sure not to overcook your noodles either.  If they are a little undercooked, just let them finish in the sauce.
  • At the very very end, add some finely chopped fresh basil.  At this point, your pasta should be mixed in with the sauce.
  • Serve with Parmesan! An extra drizzle of olive oil never hurts either.
  • Relax, it’s pasta night.

 

Leave a Reply

