simple roasted asparagus

Now that my beloved brussels sprouts are no longer in season and not sold at my grocery store, I need a new veggie to roast.  Boyfriend and I have settled on asparagus.  Usually, I pop them in the oven, wait around a while, and then take them out whenever they look done.  But last night, for your benefit, I actually timed the process.  Thirty minutes was the perfect amount of time to produce slightly crispy, nutty, roasted asparagus.

These things are great on their own, but we dip them in some homemade “garlic aioli.”  Really, I just sprinkle some garlic powder in mayonnaise.  If I’m feeling fancy, I’ll chop up some fresh garlic.  I had never heard of dipping asparagus in mayo until I saw boyfriend’s family do it.  And I love mayo, so I have been converted.

asparagus1

The process is really easy.  All you have to do is wash the asparagus, chop off the white ends, drizzle with olive oil and salt, and pop them in the oven.  The most important part, in my opinion, is making sure that the asparagus is well coated in the oil and salt.  This means your hands will get oily.  Really get in there – don’t be a baby about it.  Alrighty, here’s the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • As much asparagus as you want.  Keep in mind that it will shrink, so buy more than you think you need.
  • Salt
  • Olive Oil

Instructions:

  • Wash the asparagus and cut off the white ends.  You can just break the spears with your hands.  Wherever they naturally snap is the right spot.
  • Drizzle the asparagus with oil and salt.  Use your hands to coat every bit of the veggies with oil and salt.  Try a raw one to see if it’s enough salt.
  • Bake at just under 400° for about 30 minutes.  The asparagus should look a little shriveled and a little brown.  Enjoy plain or with garlicky mayo.

asparagus3

Leave a Reply

